We would like to invite all of our associates at Walmart 2995 to enjoy a
Many times on the holidays and on special occasions, we provide our employees with delicious full meals or, depending on the occasion, special treats such as pizzas, deli sandwiches, or ice cream. Yum! (For many of us, that is.)
However, many of our employees are vegetarian or vegan. Some of them may say, “Well, this is nice, but what can WE eat?” So, out of consideration for them, we are sponsoring a special vegetarian/vegan celebration for all our (WM 2995) employees that everyone can enjoy.
Walmart, a worldwide corporation, prides itself (in a very humble way, of course!) on diversity and differences in the consumer market and in the workplace. Here in Plano, Texas, we have employees (and customers) from all over the world – literally, not just figuratively. With our Vegetarian Celebration, we know we’re not going to please everybody. However, it’s still our job to try.
Let’s face it. With our customers, we’re not going to please all of them all the time. However, it’s still our job to try.
We’re not promoting nor discouraging vegetarianism and veganism. Rather, we just want to honor and show consideration for our vege associates and coworkers during a major holiday season such as Easter (coming soon!), Thanksgiving, or Christmas.
For the sake of minimizing wordiness in this invitation, we’re coining a new word: “vege” (pronounced “veejee”). This is only so we don’t have to say “vegetarian or vegan” or “vegetarian/vegan” all the time. Our spell-checker will have a fit with this, but that’s okay. We’re the ones writing this invitation. We’re the boss! 🙂
Since we’re on the topic of vegetarian vs. vegan, let’s define a couple of terms. We’re not going to please everybody with these generalized definitions, but maybe they will help clarify some of the differences.
- Vegetarians, generally speaking, do not eat any animal flesh or flesh derivatives (e.g., no beef, pork, fish, poultry, invertebrates, etc., no beef broth or chicken broth, no lard, etc.). Many vegetarians, but not all, do eat animal-derived products such as milk, cheese, butter, eggs, etc., as long as no animals were harmed, injured, or killed in their production.
- Vegans, again generally speaking, do not eat or consume animal products of any kind (e.g., no animal flesh of any kind, no eggs, milk, cheese, butter, etc.). Many vegans don’t use animal products of any kind in their daily lives (e.g., no cosmetics or animal-based skin creams or lotions, no leather belts or shoes, no wool sweaters, etc.).
Our first Vegetarian Celebration will be a pot-luck affair. Everyone who wants to eat or even sample the various delicious dishes MUST bring a vege dish of their own. If this event is successful, maybe Walmart will foot the entire bill next time. (We can hope, right?)
We invite everyone associated with WM 2995 to participate. However, those of you who do, MUST bring a vege dish of your own. We recommend a dish of at least 8 to 12 servings. 8 to 12 servings may not seem like a lot, but if a lot of people participate in the pot-luck, then 8 to 12 servings will go a long way and serve a lot of people. Walmart 2995 will supply the beer and wine – just kidding! – Walmart will supply the soft drinks, plates, napkins, plasticware, etc. Perhaps Walmart will even provide ice cream and/or vege desserts. You bring your own favorite vege dishes.
Now, we don’t want everybody bringing salads or peas-and-carrots dishes. Yes, we’d like to have 2 or 3 different salads, e.g., but not 23 different salads! Before you bring something, please, please, PLEASE! call or text one of our coordinators to let us know what you’d like to bring. We’re not trying to limit what you can bring. We’re just trying to prevent everyone from bringing the same thing. Here are some examples of vege items you can bring:
- Vege entrees!
- Vege entrees!
- Vege entrees!
- Did we mention vege entrees?! 🙂
- Breads/rice or quinoa dishes
- Vege drinks (Walmart will provide soft drinks: Cokes, Dr. Pepper, etc.)
If you would like to participate, please review our generalized descriptions of vegetarian and vegan diets above. Please be considerate of your vege coworkers and prepare your dishes accordingly. Please do not “flavor” your dishes with meat broth, lard, bacon drippings, or anything derived from animal flesh.
If you would like to participate, please, please, PLEASE! call or text one of our coordinators to let us know what you’d like to bring. If you have any questions, comments, suggestions, please call one of our coordinators.
Our coordinators are:
Jerry Patillo 214-784-8520
Harish Divyeshwar 469-412-6939
We hope everyone at Walmart 2995 will participate and join us for this very special celebration!
To be continued. . . . UNFINISHED PROPOSAL